Crock-Pot Turkey Corn Chowder

31 Jan

I thought I’d share one of my favorite, easy recipes, at least of the moment.  I’m making some now and it’s the second time this month, so you know it’s pretty good.  The fact that it doesn’t take much prep time, or ingredients helps too!  Plus, living alone, I can make this and bring it to work for dinner a couple of nights which saves me from stopping at the grocery store on the way to work!  It would be delicious  served in a sour-dough bread bowl…but then, what isn’t? Ingredients: 1 lb ground turkey (I like to use the spicy type) 3 cups frozen diced hash browns with onions and peppers (I never measure, just dump in the whole bag!) 2 medium carrots chopped 1 10 3/4 ounce can condensed cream of mushroom soup 1 15-16 1/2 ounce can creamed corn 2 1/2 cups water I usually cook the turkey and make sure it’s broken into small pieces, plus drain out the fat before adding it to the crock pot, but you don’t have to. Add everything into the slow cooker, give it a stir, set to low for 8-10 hours or high for 4-5 hours and forget about it.  Delicioius! Here’s a picture of what it looks like.  Keep in mind this just went in the crock-pot.  It’ll look much yummier after it cooks for 8 hours! DSCN0100 Update:  Here’s what it looks like after cooking for about 8 hours!

One Response to “Crock-Pot Turkey Corn Chowder”

  1. hmully February 5, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    This sounds good! I might have to steal it 😉

Leave a Reply

