The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

7 Feb

The_Girl_Who_Kicked_the_Hornets_Nest

I hate to say it, but compared to the other two books in this series, I liked this one the least.  I’m glad I finished it (because the end was the best part).  I would have been upset if I wouldn’t have finished all three. 

I think my main dislike was the fact that even though Lisbeth Salander (my favorite character in every one of the books) is mentioned throughout, she really isn’t playing a big part for most of it.  She does come out more towards the end which is what makes the end of the book better, in my opinion.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s worth reading if you enjoyed the other books, I just think it wasn’t as action-packed and suspenseful.

Then there’s the title of the book.  I really liked that the other two titles made no sense, but as you read along they did make sense.  I have no idea what they are talking about when they say “hornet’s nest”.  I mean, I guess it could be a metaphor for stirring up trouble or something like that.  It would make sense, but I still don’t like it so much.

I’m moving on to a new book which I’m excited to start either tonight or tomorrow called The Passage by Justin Cronin.  I had never heard of it but came across a blog talking about favorite books and it was on the list.  It sounds really good!  Supposed to be very scary and horrific, about zombies and the not far in the future world.  It’s 800 pages long so I don’t expect to finish it too soon, although many of the reviews said that the reader just could not put the book down and was up many sleepless nights reading.  We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

