Juice Fast Day 1

8 Aug

Ok, nearing the end of day 1 of my very first juice fast.  It’s been a crazy day (like my first day off from work usually is).  I worked last night from 10pm until 8am this morning.  My last real meal was at about 3:30am and I was starving by the time I got off work at 8am.  I had been planning on going to Safeway to get some veggies to make my juice but I found out as I was leaving work that one of my coworkers is doing the juice fast too (she’s on day 4 today) and she told me where to get produce much cheaper (I still spent $130, but more on that later)!  So, I ended up going out of town for the produce and by the time I got home I was so tempted just to start eating everything before juicing it.  But I was good!  I waited!

My first juice was good, I liked it anyway, pretty refreshing tasting and light, but somehow when you drink it you don’t feel as hungry.  I’m not going to say that I don’t feel a little hungry, I do, but if I drink water after drinking the juice I actually feel pretty full.  Just not, I ate a huge meal full.  Either way, I’m not sitting here listening to my stomach grumble so it’s not been too bad at all.  Of course this is just day 1.  Hoping it stays this easy though.

All in all I’ve had only two juices today.  Not because I’m trying to limit myself but because I did take a nap earlier today which took up some time.  Still trying to get the second juice down.  I think I’ve been working on it for about four hours now.  Sipping away.  Not my favorite recipe but I think it’s because I used the red swiss chard, seems to have a pretty bitter flavor.  Not bad, just not something that I want to gulp down real fast.  I think I’ll end up having another one (different recipe) before I go to bed.

Oh I almost forgot the statistics part of it all.  My beginning weight, which I’m embarrassed to admit at the moment, is 146.4.  I haven’t been that heavy in a very long time.  So, really hoping I do lose a few pounds but I guess only time will tell.

Back to the subject of produce and costs.  I ended up buying too much.  So much in fact that it won’t all fit in my refrigerator.  On top of that I was really trying to follow recipes which led me to shop at the discount place and at another grocery store.  In the future I think I’m going to skip the recipes and just buy what I can from the discount produce place….and not in such mass quantities.  I do wish my refrigerator was bigger (it’s always been too small, not just for this) because I was hoping to be able to only grocery shop once a week.

Overall I don’t feel any different than I did yesterday.  I know it takes time, I’m just trying to give you a feel for what it’s like on the fast.  Like I mentioned, I’m not hungry, but I keep having urges to eat something.  I’m really craving tortilla chips for some reason.  Hint of Lime chips would be amazing right now.  I think it’s mostly the actually chewing and crunch that I’m missing right now.  And for the people who appreciate TMI….no crazy bowel movements to speak of, lol. 

So, yes, I have nearly survived day 1! 

Leave a Reply

