Juice Fast Day 5

12 Aug

I am completely exhausted!  Not because I’m dying from lack of nutrition but because today has been crazy busy.  And it’s my first day of starting to feel better from surgery.

Anyway, I woke up and didn’t have my first juice until 10am, then I decided that I was going to go for a walk, so I got the dogs all ready to go and off we went.  But, I noticed something didn’t look quite right on Rudy’s bottom.  He was acting his usual self so we went home and he wouldn’t stop licking his backside so I knew I needed to take him to the vet.  Of course they’re closed for lunch so we left the house at 12:30 and by that time whatever it was that was wrong with him was worse.  Got to the vet and found out that he had a ruptured anal gland :(  Not a fun thing for me or for him.  Apparently it’s pretty painful and I can imagine it would be.  I won’t go into details about what they had to do, or what I’m supposed to do, but it’s gross.  The things we do for our kids….furry or not!

So, while Rudy was getting taken care of Fiona and I went for a 3 mile walk along the riverwalk in Astoria!  Such a nice day.  A little windy but I guess that’s the norm up there.

Overall feeling great today.  I’m noticing that I really don’t get hunger pangs anymore, even when I probably should be hungry.  I ate my first juice at 10am and didn’t get home until after 4pm, so I’m drinking my second one now.  Also, I really should have brought some water along with me on that walk, but I wasn’t prepared.  I got a bit of a headache towards the end and was more than ready to be back at the vet, but overall ok.

So excited because I stopped for produce on the way home so I have a few more things to experiment with.  I got some oranges because I was really craving them, lemons, and more spinach, celery,basil, and cucumbers.  I’m really trying not to limit what I throw into the juices but I’m finding that there are things that I like way more than others.  For example, kale, it’s a waste of money because you hardly get any juice out of it at all.  I’d much rather stick to spinach because I get a lot more juice out of it and it doesn’t really seem to add any flavor to the juices. 

My lunch is really good, 1 orange, 1/2 cucumber, 3 handfuls of spinach, and 3 carrots!

So, the dreaded scale.  Somehow I think it knows that I am wanting to see 130 something on it, so of course I came in at exactly 140.0 this morning.  That’s a weight loss of .2 from yesterday.  I knew it was going to be messed up after being sick the other day.  I’m feeling good about today and tomorrow though.  No more pain pills and no more upset stomach.  Concentrating on drinking more water between juices!

Leave a Reply

