Juice Fast Day 15

22 Aug

My very final day of only juice!  I’m so excited.  I even went to the grocery store today and bought things that I don’t plan on juicing!  I bought two portabella mushrooms that I’m planning on using for my pizza “crust”, some organic garlic pasta sauce, and some shredded mozzarella cheese.  I know I need to do more shopping, but I didn’t bring a list with me so that’s all I could think to get. 

After 15 days of no fat, oil, sugar, flour, salt, etc. I feel like I am much more conscious about what I’m going to put in my body.  That doesn’t mean that I’m not going to enjoy what I eat and eat some bad things along the way.  There were displays upon displays of gummy bears, gummy worms, and sour gummies at Safeway today.  So tempting, but I was good.  I have also realized that I must not have eaten as badly as I thought I did before the fast because I really didn’t experience any detox side effects.  Doesn’t mean that there isn’t still room for improvement though!

After not weighing in yesterday I did my scale check this morning and was only down .2lbs.  Those days where I switch to and from nights really mess me up.  I’m not even really eating all that much more than I normally would, but something about being up around 30 hours, even with a nap, just seems to really screw with my entire body.  I’m lucky to work 4-10s and have three days off.  At least my body semi-adjusts during the week and during the weekend, it’s those in-between parts that are no good.  So, the ultimate final weigh in will be tomorrow morning.  I’m curious, but I don’t expect to lose all that much more. 

4 Responses to “Juice Fast Day 15”

  1. Michael Duggin @enjoytheworkout August 22, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Congratulations on making it to day 15! I did the 15 day juice reboot and I got to day 2. 😦
    I liked the idea about the juice popcicle

    • shauna825 August 22, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      Day 2 is definitely the toughest day. If you can make it past that then I think the rest is much easier! I love the juice cicles, so good!

  2. Brian Porter September 17, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I enjoyed reading your blog. Congratulations to you. A juice fast is a major accomplishment.

    I am on a juice fast too, and I have made it 6 days so far. I feel pretty good, but I have not reached the “high” that I have read about. I still feel a little be lightheaded.

    Brian

    • shauna825 September 17, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      Thank you! I never did reach that “high” feeling either. My thought on that is that I already ate pretty healthy so I don’t think it affected me as much as someone who didn’t eat as healthy before they started the fast.

      What a difference after you’re done with the fast though. I still notice that I’m eating way less, and I’ve still lost a few pounds after being done with the fast. I just can’t, and don’t want to eat as much as I used to and that’s a good thing. Plus, eating really bad things just makes you feel icky. I ate a donut at work yesterday and felt so gross afterwards….for hours. That’s when you realize that you really shouldn’t have eaten it. But then again, one little indulgence once in a great while isn’t going to hurt you either.

      I’m loving the results! Still not ready to commit to another juice fast in the too near future, but I will down the road for sure.

      Good luck and hang in there! It’s totally worth it after you’re done.

      Oh, also, those food cravings you’re having….the food doesn’t taste even close to as good as your brain is telling you they will, so hang in there!

Leave a Reply

