The Hunger Games

27 Mar

I’ve read all three books (yes, I know, I neglected to do a write up about them but I feel like I have to read them again to do a proper one), and saw the movie the opening night at midnight!  I thought the movie was pretty awesome.  There were a few parts, especially the part about how Katniss got the mockingjay pin, that were changed so much from the book that I didn’t like them.  All in all I don’t think these changes matter too much, but they still matter.

mockingjay

Today I keep hearing a lot about racism tied in with this movie and I have to say that I’m shocked that there is such a huge trend towards this.  The article I was reading earlier (found here) was about a bunch of Twitter posts from different people saying how disgusted they were that Rue and Thresh (from District 11) were black.  In this article they clearly quoted sections from the book describing each character and they are described as having “dark skin”.  So, these people that watched the movie (and claimed to have read the books) are disgusted that they cried and were upset over Rue dying now that they realize she was black.  Are you kidding me?  Why is it wrong to be sad over a white girl dying but not a black girl?  I just don’t get it….can’t wrap my mind around it.  I cried during the book, and I cried during the movie.  I though the actress who played Rue did a fantastic job and she really did remind me of Prim.

Ok, done with my tangent there.  If you haven’t already, the series is a must-read.  I say read the books then watch the movie, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

