Fifty Shades of Grey

1 May

20120501-144029.jpg

I just finished reading Fifty Shades of Grey. I’ve had so many of my Facebook friends reading this book in a matter of hours and giving it rave reviews. I hate to admit that I think I’m on the other side of the fence from the majority on this one. I started out knowing very little of what this book was about, only that it was popular, and someone did mention the fact that it was about dominates and submissives; bondage if you will.

The book starts out great, Anastasia Steele heads out to interview Christian Grey for her sick friend, the editor if the college paper. I love Anastasia’s inner voice, so much like my own. I love that she’s clumsy like me, nervous around boys, etc.

But, as the book progresses we read to find that Anastasia has been asked by Mr. Grey to become his submissive. What we the reader, and Mr. Grey, don’t know is that Anastasia is a virgin. Here is where the story gets unbelievable. I find it hard to believe that a virgin….one that has never even had a relationship with a boy/man would even consider signing a contract to obey every word, from a practically unknown man, or face being beaten for “not following the rules”.

As the book ends Anastasia has left Christian because she realizes just how “fifty shades of fucked up” he is and that he can never love her the way she loves him.

But, there are two more book to go in the series so I’m guessing she’s going to decide to give it another try…or possibly she’s just as fucked up as he is now with her hostile introduction into the world of sex.

As much as I didn’t love this book, I hate to admit that I’m curious to see what happens. I think Anastasia’s character is strong and I hope she stays that way, sticks to her guns and doesn’t give up on what she truly wants in life, someone to love her. Because, after all, that’s what we’re all looking for in this life.

Leave a Reply

