Fifty Shades Darker

13 May

20120513-210739.jpg

I just finished reading 50 Shades Darker by E.L. James, the second book in the 50 Shades trilogy. This one took me a long time to get through. Partly because I’ve had less free time to read but also because it’s incredibly boring. I’m sorry but I can only read about sex, described exactly the same way down to the phrases, so many times. On top of that I just have to mention that this girl Anastasia comes more often and easier than I could ever imagine. I’m fairly certain everyone has at least one off day.

I’m sick of the phrases “my inner goddess”, “the smell of Christian” and I’m sure there are others that constantly repeat themselves…..like “my sex”, but I can’t seem to think of them at the moment.

I still find the story completely unimaginable. Here they are, dating for a month or so now and she’s agreed (or as the book says over and over again “consented”) to marry this weirdo billionaire. I’d say the only saving grace for this book is that Christian is much more romantic, but even that I have a hard time believing would be possible to change in such a short amount of time.

I try to keep pretending this book is just make-believe (because it is), but it’s just a little too far out there for me. One book to go. Wondering how on earth they plan on ending this thing. I’m going to make a prediction, either they decide to have a child, or she’s pregnant by the end. They keep dropping hints with the new house purchase of lots of extra rooms. Could any relationship ever move so fast? I suppose it happens but I don’t think it’s smart.

Here I go…..50 Shades Freed.

4 Responses to “Fifty Shades Darker”

  1. Katie May 21, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Thanks for the honest review. I have to say I laughed out loud when I read these thoughts:

    “I’m sorry but I can only read about sex, described exactly the same way down to the phrases, so many times. On top of that I just have to mention that this girl Anastasia comes more often and easier than I could ever imagine. I’m fairly certain everyone has at least one off day.”

    I read historical romantic fiction from time to time, and I agree. Really, is there no other way to describe it? And if that’s the case, maybe the scene doesn’t need to be there.

  2. bookgeek84 May 26, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    I love the honest review, but I must be honest, I disagree with your view that they couldn’t be ready to be married after one month. Some of the longest lasting marriages in my family have been the ones that moved fast in the beginning. Me and my husband are one example, and my sister-in-law and her husband are another.

    • shauna825 May 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

      I’m not saying its never successful, but in my experience it’s better to get to know someone first. And, in this particular instance Christian and Ana don’t really know anything about each other other than what they like to do in the bedroom. There’s a lot more that goes into knowing a person. Yes, you can learn these things after a marriage (and you’re always going to keep learning things about the person), but it’s best to know more than how to get someone off before you decide you want to spend the rest of your life with them.

      Once again, this is only my opinion based on my life experiences.

Leave a Reply

