A Game of Thrones – A Song of Ice and Fire #1

5 Jun

20120605-085454.jpg

I finally finished book one of the Game of Thrones series. I can’t say that I’m surprised by anything that happened, because I had already watched all of season one. The book and the tv show are so close to each other which I can really appreciate. It drives me crazy when a movie or tv show is so far from the written version, and this stays very true to the original Of course there is more detail in the 835 page book, but by first seeing the characters on screen I was much better able to distinguish between the dozens of main characters (which can still be confusing at times).

I have a few favorite characters, Arya, Jon, Daenerys (Dany), and probably my most favorite are the direwolves, Ghost in particular. I think it goes without saying that Sansa is my LEAST favorite. That girl is horrible. In that regard Prince/King Joffrey is perfect for her, even though she goes from completely smitten to pure hatred for him by the end. She deserves him and worse. Yep, not a Sansa fan, lol.

There were a few memorable quotes from this first book. Of course we can’t forget to mention that “Winter is coming.” They repeated that at least 100 times if they said it once. It’s weird because they say winter, and even though they speak of it being cold and harsh, they can only mean war. And, as the book is nearing its end that is exactly what we see happening. Robb, Ned’s oldest (not bastard) son is leading an army to fight against the Lannisters. I couldn’t have been happier to see Jaime caught by Robb’s army….unless they would have beheaded him then and there, but that has yet to happen.

Another of the memorable quotes mention several times throughout is “When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die.” That seems to be all too true as people are dying left and right in this book. Why do they have to kill off the good guys and let the bad guys prevail time and time again. Maybe it’s to keep us reading hoping that the bad guys finally get what’s coming to them. I can only hope!

My favorite from the entire book is “Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.” These words ring true for anyone in any situation.

Now that the dragon has been woken I can’t wait to see what happens!

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read, who enjoys getting lost in a different world. The depth of this book will have you hooked. I’m not normally a person who would read a fantasy novel about kings, queens, beheadings, and dragons, but I’m willing to call this one the exception to the rule. I did stop a few times for some lighter reading, but I still kept coming back to this book.

Leave a Reply

