Sempre (Forever)

13 Jun

20120613-161650.jpg

After reading the Fifty Shades series, and not really loving it but being interested in the genre, I decided to look for something similar to read. I was in the mood for a romantic love story (I know, so not like me). I searched for what felt like forever before stumbling on a forum where the participants were discussing similar books. There was a list of books that started as Twilight fan-fiction (just like Fifty Shades did). I was reluctant to take the risk of reading an exact replica of Twilight or Fifty Shades, but luckily for me Amazon had a preview of the first five chapters available. I ended up being hooked and purchased the Kindle version for $2.99 before I even finished the free sample.

Have no fear, this isn’t Twilight, and it’s not Fifty Shades, but I think it’s a nice combination of the two wrapped up in a different setting. I enjoyed this so much more than Fifty Shades!

Sempre (Forever) by J.M. Darhower is all about young love, finding your soul-mate, finding yourself, and overcoming the obstacles of life….ok, not normal life, mafia life. There aren’t repetitive sex scenes (which I appreciated), but there are a few. You’ll be reading for a while before you find the first one though.

I really enjoyed this book, it kept my interest the entire time. And especially when you take into consideration that this is a self-published book I’d say it deserves at least four out of five stars.

Ok, enough with the sappy romances, I’m starting Game of Thrones book two, A Clash of Kings! Time for blood and gore and sword fights, lol. I have a feeling I’ll be ready for another romance by the time I’m done with that!

Leave a Reply

