Cauliflower (California) Pizza

28 Jun

Well, I started school again after a semester off.  So far so good.  But, in classic college student fashion, I want pizza!  The only problem with that is that I’m still trying to lose vacation weight.  It’s slowly but surely coming off, but pizza is not in the diet plan.  After a little searching on the internet I came across a pretty awesome blog called Rabbit Food for my Bunny Teeth, and found this recipe. 

The only thing I did to alter the original recipe was that I wanted to use up the entire head of cauliflower, which made six cups of shredded cauliflower.  I made that into two pizzas and just added 1 1/2 times the amount of everything called for, except for the eggs, I added two to each “dough”.  It’s kinda hard to half an egg, lol.

I keep trying to call this Cauliflower Pizza, but my mind keeps thinking California Pizza.  I think that’s a good name for it!  Maybe I just have California on the mind.  It’s highly likely.

I highly recommend you give this a try.  It’s not exactly regular pizza, but it not far off either, and you would never know you were eating cauliflower if you didn’t make it yourself or someone told you.  There’s surprisingly quite a bit of flavor that comes from the spices you add into the crust and it makes the whole house smell good once it goes into the oven. 

I’ve read some complaints about other cauliflower crusts, how you can’t pick it up like regular pizza and that it has to be eaten with a fork.  I assure you that I didn’t have this problem at all…even though I was armed with a  fork just in case.

Here’s some drool-worthy pics for you to check out:

 

cauliflower pizza crustCooked califlower pizza crust

The crust before and after it’s cooked.  You can see it starts to resemble a dough more after it’s been cooked.

Cauliflower Pizza Done

And the final product!  I’m going to be honest here, it tastes even better than it looks!

Leave a Reply

