A Clash of Kings

17 Jul

20120717-194248.jpg

I just finished the second book in the Game of Thrones series by George R.R. Martin. This book coincides with season two of the HBO series. I haven’t actually watched season two yet (although it’s on my to do list), so I can’t say how it compares. I have heard a lot of talk about the two being fairly different though, especially Arya and Dany’s characters.

For me this book started off pretty slow. I’d say I was 30% into the book before I felt compelled to keep reading. By the half-way point I didn’t want to put it down. This is definitely a book that builds as it goes. So many twists and turns. They wait until the last chapter to kill some of the suspense regarding Bran. I won’t give it away, but I will say that I’m relieved it turned out the way it did, and not totally surprised since the whole story of Bran seemed to take off in a weird direction.

My absolute favorite chapter in the whole book was Dany’s chapter in the House of the Undying Ones! To be able to see that on screen would be amazing, but I’m not sure they could do it justice either.

I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen in book three. They’re going to have to start introducing some new characters soon because they keep killing people off left and right!

My favorite characters are Arya, Jon, Dany, Tyrion, and even Sansa has grown on me some (although she’s still far from good).

Leave a Reply

