Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

25 Apr

I’ve recently ventured into the world of paleo eating/cooking. I’m not exclusively eating paleo, but I am as much as possible (or when I’m not cheating). I recently ate nothing that wasn’t part of the paleo diet for about two weeks and noticed a big drop on weight, not to mention the fact that my stomach would no longer tolerate the “bad” foods. But, I’ve been on vacation (at home, a staycation if you will) and although I’ve managed to do pretty good I did have a few cheat nights.

Tonight I’m cooking for my work week. Getting ready to get back into the swing of things. My friend G posted this recipe on his Facebook the other day and I wanted to try it out. It’s a repost from another Facebook page called $5-10 Dollar Meals – Cheap Eats which you can find here.


IMG_2850.jpg

For some reason my local grocery store doesn’t carry one pound packages of chicken breasts, and the smallest I could find was just over 1 1/2 pounds. So, I adjusted the spices ratio accordingly and made the entire package. For the record, I was able to purchase everything (except the garlic powder, I was out) for $12.95. Not within their $10 range, but our grocery store here is insanely expensive. If you live somewhere that is not out in the sticks you could probably make this exact recipe for $8 or less.

Without further ado, here is the recipe:

Oven Baked Fajita


1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips


2 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsp chili powder


1 1/2 tsp cumin


1/2 tsp garlic powder


1/2 tsp dried oregano


1/4 tsp seasoned salt


1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies (Rotel)


1 medium onion, sliced


1/2 red bell pepper, cut into strips


1/2 green bell pepper, cut into strips



Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place chicken strips in a greased 13×9 baking dish.
In a small bowl combine the oil, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, dried oregano, and salt.
Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and stir to coat.
Next add the tomatoes, peppers, and onions to the dish and stir to combine. Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender.

I’m also thinking it would have been better to let the chicken breasts marinate in the oil/spice mixture, but it was still really good!

Leave a Reply

