My Whole30 Journey Starts Now!

10 Oct

Hello and welcome to my Whole30 journey where I’m going to start repairing my body by eating whole foods for (at least) the next 30 days.

Today was prep day which means tomorrow I officially start day 1.  I’m not much of a cook.  Don’t get me wrong, I can cook I just usually don’t.  I have a hard time cooking for myself.  It’s just not as enjoyable as cooking for someone else.  Since G is a very picky eater that means I have to find motivation to cook a wide variety of meats, vegetables, and fruits for me.

I don’t know if it’s my weird work hours or the job I have but I just cannot make myself cook on a daily basis.  That’s why I’ve decide to prep my food for the week on my weekend so I don’t have to cook much during the work week.  Everything but breakfast is ready to go and I plan on eating a lot of eggs and spinach for breakfast which should be pretty easy and quick to cook up.

So, here’s what I made tonight:

Crack Slaw: Ground beef, ground turkey, 1 package cole slaw, 1 package broccoli slaw (I could only find a kale broccoli mix), hot sauce, and lemon juice

This is the only recipe I made that wasn’t in the Whole30 book.  So good!

IMG_8010

I made my own mayo and ranch dressing from scratch.  They both taste way better than anything I’ve ever bought from the store.

IMG_8011 IMG_8012

Cold Thai Salad made with Sunshine Sauce.  The sunshine sauce is supposed to use sunflower butter.  I didn’t bother to try and find any and used freshly ground almond butter instead.  I can’t compare to how it’s supposed to taste with the sunflowers but it’s amazing the way it is!

IMG_8014 IMG_8013

Balsamic Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts – I thought I didn’t like brussels sprouts but these taste so good.

IMG_8019

Spaghetti Squash – one of my favorites.  I can eat it just like this.

IMG_8015 IMG_8016

Stuffed Peppers – ground beef and butternut squash.

IMG_8020

Protein Salad – made with the fresh mayo and canned chicken breast.

IMG_8022

Chicken Chowder – This is the only thing I made that came out looking so much different than the photo in the book.  I think I used more broccoli than they called for but looks are only part of the equation.  It tastes really good.  I like broccoli anyway!

How it’s supposed to look:

IMG_8024

How mine looks:

IMG_8023

My kitchen was a disaster.  Before today I had liked my kitchen but I didn’t fully understand how awesome the huge granite countertops were.  So easy to clean up and room to stash the pots and pans until I was done and ready for clean-up.

IMG_8021

And now my fridge is bursting at the seams!  No, the Pepsi is not mine.

IMG_8025

All in all it took me 6 hours to cook 9 different dishes (including sauces).  That’s a lot of time but considering that saves me time during the week I think it’s well worth it.  I think with time I’ll get at least a little faster.

I’m nervous that I’ve cooked too much food but I really didn’t know how much to cook for the week.  It’s different not being able to just run out and get something if I’m hungry and don’t have anything at home.  I have to be prepared or I don’t think I will succeed.

I took my beginning weight, measurements, and photographs today and won’t check them again until after the 30 days is over.  I’ve seen some really great transformations online and I’m hoping to see drastic differences in myself too.  Beyond hoping to lose a few pounds and look leaner what I’m most hoping for is to feel different.  As I stated in my last post I’m doing this to hopefully heal my body with food rather than medicine.  I can’t wait to start feeling better!

Leave a Reply

