Whole30 – Day 1

11 Oct

Day 1 is officially in the books as a success.  It feels good to have finally started when this is something I’ve known I was going to do for several weeks now but have had to wait for several different reasons (flu, blood draw, and other medical tests).  I don’t think I’ve ever eaten this many vegetables in one day ever…and I like vegetables I just don’t like preparing them.

I started my day out with a black coffee!  I drink my coffee black at home pretty regularly even before starting Whole30 so that’s not been a hurdle for me.  I love the Starbucks Via packets because they are quick and easy and also Whole30 compliant.

Breakfast

I did two things during my first meal that I have never done before.  I made poached eggs!  I always thought it’d be difficult but it’s not at all.  I think the secret is the apple cider vinegar in the water.  They came out perfect, done on the outside and still runny on the inside.  I also made wilted spinach.  It was so good.  I made about half a bag which cooks up so much smaller.  I used coconut oil and added salt, pepper, and garlic powder for seasoning.  I also heated up some of the spaghetti squash and sliced up a plum.

IMG_8044IMG_8046

Lunch

For lunch I heated up some of the Crack Slaw and the Balsamic Sweet Potatoes and Brussels Sprouts and added half an avocado to meet my fat goal.  It all reheated nicely.  I’m so thankful to have done the majority of my cooking ahead of time.  Even though today was a day off from work I just don’t love spending a ton of time in the kitchen.

IMG_0533

Dinner

I decided to have a bowl of Chicken Chowder and a side salad with the other half of my avocado from lunch topped with home made ranch dressing.  The chowder might look funny but it tastes delicious!

IMG_8051

I’m really surprised I didn’t even finish my entire dinner.  I only ate about half the soup, which means I did not get the recommended amount of protein for dinner.  I don’t know what it is but I can eat a lot and I find myself feeling much fuller than normal.  I know I have eaten way more food than I normally do and I’m not going to lie, that freaks me out.   In my mind more food = more pounds and that is the opposite of what I want.  That doesn’t mean I’m not going to eat as much as I’m supposed to, because Whole30 is not about being hungry all the time or being low calorie, but I do think I need to rethink my portion sizes.  I’m STUFFED.  Part of Whole30 is to learn to quit eating when you are satiated, not before or after.  I have a feeling that’s going to take at least 30 days to learn for me.  I’m trying really hard to eat at my dining room table and to only eat, no phone, iPad, laptop, or TV.  Easier said than done.

Okay now for the TMI portion of my post.  Please stop reading if you really don’t want to know, lol.

Really….I mean it…stop reading if TMI bothers you or if you’re not okay with me being completely honest with the process.

Alright, here it goes.  I’m not sure if it’s the increase in vegetables/fiber in my diet, or maybe the fats, but I’m experiencing diarrhea today.  I had the flu about two weeks ago and this is feeling like deja vu.  It started about three hours after breakfast and continued throughout the day.  I looked all over the Whole30 Forums and couldn’t find anyone complaining of diarrhea on day one.  Maybe I’m just such a perfectionist that my body decided to skip ahead?  Kidding!  I really don’t know what’s going on but I feel fine other than the frequent trips to the bathroom.  Really hoping it stops soon though.  The good news is that it subsided quite a bit after lunch.  Hopefully all the bad things are gone now, lol.

2 Responses to “Whole30 – Day 1”

  1. Donna October 11, 2015 at 9:14 am #

    I think it’s safe to say the increase in vegetables and fruit may have caused the doodooreas! Totally inconvenient at work!! Hopefully nothing you cooked became contaminated because then you’ll be having these symptoms every time u eat it again!!! 😁 keep blogging!! I love ur pics and commentary!! Minus the doodooreas 😵😝😂

    • shauna825 October 11, 2015 at 10:22 am #

      Ha! Thanks Donna. I don’t think anything is contaminated. It wasn’t that kind of reaction. I’ve had food poisoning before and this was nothing compared to that.

Leave a Reply

