Whole30 – Day 2

12 Oct

I slept like a rock.  I’m not so sure this had anything to do with Whole30 or if it was because I wore my earplugs to bed and was exhausted, but it could be.  They say sleep gets better throughout the program but I think day 1 is a bit early to be experiencing that.  I still didn’t feel rested when I woke up though.  I felt like I wanted to stay all nice and snuggled under my blankets.

I woke up with a horrible headache, which isn’t that unusual for me.  I felt like I hadn’t slept at all, which also isn’t unusual.  I did, however, feel like I had been in a much deeper sleep than normal so that’s a good thing!

Breakfast

Breakfast looked a whole lot like yesterday’s breakfast but I decided to wilt the spinach and warm the spaghetti squash in the same pan to save time and dirty pans.  I made two poached eggs which turned out perfect again!  Who knew I had hidden poached egg talent?  Certainly not me.  I added some olives to help meet my fat criteria.  They added a nice salty tang to the dish!

IMG_8055

Lunch

Lunch was a mess.  Not the food but the actual event.  Work was crazy busy and my lunch was delayed until about 5:00 AM (I normally eat at about 3:00 AM).  To make matters worse I had been hungry since 1:00 AM so I really wanted that food.  I don’t think I brought enough for my lunch either because I was not completely satisfied after eating but it did tie me over until I got home for dinner.  It didn’t help that G decided to eat one of those cellophane wrapped rolls of chocolate glazed donuts while drinking a chocolate milk.  Can you say mean?  I wasn’t wanting the milk but damn those donuts looked good.  Luckily my food tasted great so it wasn’t that tempting.  He didn’t offer to share either so there was that.

I had some of the left over filling from the stuffed peppers which consisted of ground beef and butternut squash, cold thai salad with sunshine sauce, and no sugar added applesauce.

IMG_8054

Dinner

By the time I got home for dinner I was starving.  I decided to eat my leftover chicken chowder from the previous day.  There wasn’t much left but it tied me over while I cooked my fried eggs.  This was my first attempt at frying eggs and let me say I do not have the same skills I do with poached eggs with the fried eggs.  They were still edible though and went nicely topped over some of the crack slaw.  The gooey yolk added a nice flavor.  I know this is only day two but I’m really loving the crack slaw.  I think I could make it every week and still eat it.  I guess we’ll see if that holds through another 28 days or not.  I also had a side salad with home made ranch dressing.  I’m really bummed that this is only the second salad I’ve eaten from a huge Costco bag and it’s going bad already.  I really have to learn to look at “sell by” dates more closely.

IMG_8056

Okay, recap time!  According to the Whole30 timeline, it’s common for days 2-3 to be “hangover” days.  I certainly woke up with a bad headache that did bother me a few times throughout the night but nothing major, just annoying.  It probably helped that I was super busy too.  I’ve been so hungry today.  Yesterday I was worried about my portion sizes and today I’m like “Screw it, where’s the food!”  My pants that were already pretty big on me feel bigger but that could totally be in my head too.  I’m so tempted to weigh myself to try to see what’s going on with my body but I won’t.  I know that is not really a true indicator.  My stomach issues have resolved themselves.  Even if it’s only temporary I’m thankful for this.

Alright, weirdest observation of the day….I actually craved chocolate.  I really never crave chocolate.  It was the kind of craving where you can actually almost taste it you want it so bad.  Weird thing is, it wasn’t when G was eating the donuts.  In fact it happened when there was no chocolate around.  I was at the doctor’s office checking in for some lab work and I’m talking to the receptionist who is taking forever and I just suddenly wanted chocolate SO BAD.  The good news is that it passed quickly.  Like I said, I was already really hungry at that point and I’m starting to understand that my body is and has been running off sugars.  I think my craving was my body trying to get me to eat what it is used to having for energy.  Either way I survived day 2…and so did everyone else!

Leave a Reply

