Whole30 – Day 3

13 Oct

Day three is done!  I don’t know if I’m having a delayed reaction or what but I’m really not feeling that bad.  I woke up today and didn’t have a headache but I was extremely tired.  The tired feeling remained throughout the day.  The book tells you numerous times that you’ll need extra sleep during this time and I’m finally starting to believe it.  Whatever medical issues I have been having previous to starting Whole30 has left me tired all the time but this is a new level of tired.  It’s like a drained tired.  I can’t wait for that to turn around though!

Breakfast

I wasn’t messing around today!  I didn’t want to be hungry at work all day so I made an extra poached egg for a total of three on top of my wilted spinach (noticing a trend yet?).  I also had part of an avocado, some sunshine sauce, and some of the balsamic sweet potatoes and brussels sprouts.  I was sad because I cut the avocado open and part of it was bad so I cut out the good stuff and just ate that.  The good news is that I made it just fine until lunch with no hunger pangs!

IMG_8057

Lunch

Lunch was a bowl of chicken chowder and some green olives.  Nothing too fancy but it was good and filling.  Easily made it until I was home to eat dinner and again wasn’t hungry.

IMG_8059

Dinner

I finally tried my ground beef and butternut squash stuffed peppers!  They’re good, but not my favorite thing so far.  Obviously variety is good and I’d make them again.  I also had some spaghetti squash topped with sunshine sauce.  I do not recommend this combination.  It wasn’t good at all, but I ate it.  Luckily I’m not a picky eater and I realize I’m eating for a purpose other than pleasure.  I will say this though, my experience so far has been mostly pleasurable.  Other than extra dishes and time spent cooking I’m really enjoying the food and enjoying real food.  And lastly I had a plum!

IMG_8061

Overview of the day: it was a good one!  I don’t feel terrible and I don’t feel amazing.  I didn’t have any crazy cravings.  I’m feeling like my stomach is just as big as it has been but for some reason my skinny jeans that are a size smaller than the ones I wore yesterday are feeling looser than they did.  Maybe they’ve just stretched out with wear or maybe this is actually starting to work!  Only another 27 days until we all find out.  Ooooh the suspense!

I’m already compiling a list of what I’m going to cook next week and I’m excited to try some new things.  I will say this, I should have cooked more meat than I did this week.  The chicken chowder doesn’t seem to have that much meat per serving, certainly doesn’t feel like one to two palm sized portions when I’m eating it, it’s mostly sweet potato.  I like sweet potato but I’d like to stick closer to the plan.  I also made the chicken salad which I can’t eat.  I looked at the can after I made it up and saw there’s corn starch in it.  Seriously?  Corn starch in chicken?  Why???  G won’t eat anything with mayo, not even real home made mayo so I guess I’ll have to throw it out.  What a shame.

WARNING: TMI TIME BELOW

I couldn’t leave you without some TMI today.  My stomach feels a bit bloated and gassy and I’ve eaten so much green that my poop is green.  And no, I didn’t cheat and have one of those black Burger King burgers.  Mine is the real deal, lol.

Leave a Reply

