Whole30 – Day 4

14 Oct

I can’t believe it’s day four already.  I realize there is still a long way to go but I’m so proud to have made it this far.  For anyone out there thinking of giving this a try (and I encourage that) I honestly think the thing that has saved me from screwing up the most was doing my cooking, or at least the majority of it, on my weekend and being prepared.  There hasn’t been a time yet that I’ve not had the food I needed to be successful and felt that I had to eat something immediately that would throw me off.  Even though it took 6 or 6 1/2 hours with cleanup it’s been totally worth it.

I woke up today after not really sleeping good feeling okay.  I don’t really seem to have any headache but I have some other weird body aches and pains that started yesterday.  For some reason my right shoulder is aching, the tendonitis in my right wrist is acting up bad, and my right foot big toe is painful in the joint when I walk.  I’m not sure what brought any of this on as I haven’t done anything physical that would be making me hurt, especially the tendonitis.  I haven’t had that act up this bad in a long time.  Maybe my body is working on repairing itself and that’s painful?  I don’t know.  I have always heard that the body heals through inflammation, and as long as it’s not prolonged then maybe it’s a good thing.  Wishful thinking probably but I’m hoping so.

Breakfast

I decided to stray from the poached eggs today and went fried.  Living on the edge I know.  They did come out better than the last time I attempted fried eggs but I broke one of the yolks trying to get it out of the pan.  I don’t care though, it still tasted delicious.  What is it about fried eggs that makes them stick so bad?  It doesn’t matter how much cooking fat I have in the pan, they stick like crazy.  I ate the eggs on top of some crack slaw (still my favorite thing since I quit eating sliced bread) and some avocado on the side.  It was a great breakfast and kept me satisfied until I ate my lunch.

IMG_8066 4

Lunch

Lunch consisted of a ground beef and butternut quash stuffed orange bell pepper and some spaghetti squash.  I brought ranch dressing for my fat and ate it on both lunch things and it was so good.  The spaghetti squash reminded me of an alfredo.  Obviously it didn’t taste the same but it had a nice creamy texture and it just added a really nice tangy flavor to my stuffed pepper.

IMG_8073 3

Snack

Snacks aren’t technically allowed on the Whole30, but they aren’t such a detrimental cheat that you have to restart the plan.  I couldn’t come straight home from work and I felt like I was going to be so hungry I’d eat whatever was in front of me if I didn’t get something in my stomach.  I went to Safeway and looked and looked for something to get that would be easy, require no utensils or microwave, and wouldn’t be too much of a cheat snack.  I ended up getting a Safeway Organics Kombucha in the flavor Pomegranate Hibiscus Lime.  I’ve only had Kombucha once or twice before and it was probably the added sugars type.  I thought I liked it at least okay before but this was rough.  I really didn’t like it but I drank half anyway.  I know it’s essentially vinegar, or close to it, but this was very sour.  I also found some olives at the olive bar.  I got a few garlic and a few hot pepper flavor.  It was so hard walking past those chips and cookies but I did it.

IMG_8075 2

Dinner

Dinner was nice and easy today since I got home late.  The only prep that needed to be done was to throw the chicken chowder and the remaining stuffing from the bell peppers into the microwave.  I’ve been trying to do a lot better and reheat a lot of things on the stove because I’ve heard the microwave kills a lot of the good stuff in our food but I was just too impatient to wait.

IMG_8076

Overall today was a really great day.  My joints are still hurting and I still don’t know why and I was unusually tired today but I had a really great night at work so that got me through.  Days 4-5 are supposed to be “Kill all the things” days and I honestly didn’t feel that at all.  I’m semi-worried that if I’m not feeling the things the timeline says I should be feeling that maybe it’s not working but I think maybe due to my illnesses I’m just used to feeling like crap so this is really no big deal.  I obviously don’t need a special eating plan to be a bitch!

IMG_8064

Leave a Reply

