Whole30 – Day 7

17 Oct

One week down!  That’s amazing.  It both feels like it’s gone by quickly and has also felt like forever.  I can’t believe I’ve stuck with it 100% since starting and I’ve also managed to keep up with my blog.  Both amazing feats if you ask me.

Today was a day off which was nice to just kind of relax.  I did get my shopping done and I’ll be cooking tonight.

Look at all this produce.  Never in my life have I bought, and actually eaten, so many vegetables in a week!

IMG_8097

My stomach has been bothering me again today…way too many trips to the bathroom and I only managed to eat two meals today.  Partly because of the stomach issues and also because I’m at home and not in my normal work routine I think.  Also, I just wasn’t all that hungry.  I know I’m supposed to eat anyway but I didn’t today.

I posted the infamous Crack Slaw recipe today so go check that out and give it a try.  I don’t know exactly why I’m so obsessed with it but they call it crack for some reason.  And luckily this crack only has positive side effects!

Breakfast

Breakfast was spinach and scrambled eggs topped with ranch dressing.  Nothing fancy as I’m finishing up what’s in my refrigerator.  I finished off my third 10oz bag of spinach with this meal.  I don’t know about you but I’ve never eaten that much spinach before in my entire life.  I really like it wilted in coconut oil with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

IMG_8096

Dinner

Dinner was crack slaw and my last avocado which has seen better days but wasn’t actually bad yet.  I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel here…literally.  I do have more hot sauce in my life now after shopping though and that makes me happy!  I’m a hot sauce fiend, especially for Frank’s Red Hot Sauce it’s my favorite and it’s compliant.  Sometimes you get lucky and the things you already loved you can still eat.  I can’t wait to cook tonight and have more new yummy foods to try.

IMG_8098

Even with the stomach issues today was not too bad of a day.  Grocery shopping was pretty easy because I mostly stuck to the produce and meat sections and saw little temptation.  I did see some amazing looking spiced cider and a caramel apple that both caught my attention for a brief second but my willpower prevailed.

I’m not sure if what I’m feeling is a Whole30 side effect or just some random thing but my breathing feels different.  I’ve never been a loud breather and my sinuses are usually pretty clear but for some reason I feel like I’m breathing better.

I did have one disappointment today however.  During Whole30 you aren’t supposed to weigh yourself.  I didn’t break the rules but I figured taking some progress pictures would be okay.  Now I totally understand why you’re not supposed to weigh yourself.  When you’ve been trying so hard for a week (or however long it’s been) and have been doing so good and you compare yourself to where you were the week before and you don’t see a difference at all….yeah, that’s a letdown.  I’m not discouraged but I am confused.  Here I was thinking my pants felt looser (and maybe they are I don’t know) but I swear I couldn’t see any difference in those photos.  Lame!  I won’t be doing that again until day 31.  I’ve learned my lesson.  When they say comparison is the thief of joy they couldn’t be more right.

Leave a Reply

