Whole30 – Day 9

19 Oct

I woke up actually feeling awake.  I’m sure that had something to do with the fact I actually got nine hours of sleep. I’ve noticed that when I’m asleep now I actually am totally out of it which hasn’t always been the case.  I forgot to put my phone on “do not disturb” mode today and got a phone call during the middle of my sleep.  I even got up to use the restroom and actually fell right back to sleep.  That never used to happen.  I would have been awake playing on my phone for the better part of an hour until I felt tired again and I may or may not have fallen back to sleep.  Today my head hit the pillow, even the second time, and I was out.  I think part of this is because I started wearing ear plugs and an eye mask (I sleep during the day) but also because of Whole30.

The book mentions having dreams about off-limits foods.  I guess my subconscious really wanted a soda today because I dreamed I had taken a sip, I could even feel the bubbles on my tongue.  In my dream I hadn’t thought about the soda right away then a short time later I was freaking out because I knew I had to start my 30 days over for one little sip of soda.  I woke up not even sure it was a dream at first, lol.

Breakfast

For breakfast I had a plate of spaghetti squash topped with three poached eggs (since it was my only source of protein for the meal) and about two tablespoons of home made mayo, topped with Frank’s Red Hot Sauce and salt and pepper.  I was a little concerned about the mayo but it blended nicely with the other flavors and I still met my fat quota.  I’ve always been a pretty low-fat eater so incorporating fats has been difficult for me.

IMG_8112

Lunch

I packed half a stuffed acorn squash and a sliced apple with almond butter for lunch.  I don’t think I’ve ever had acorn squash before today and I actually did like it.  My mom told me that when I was little, still eating baby food, squash was my favorite.  I guess some things never change.  The meat stuffing of the squash reminded me of Thanksgiving stuffing, I think because of the rosemary spice.  It was delicious!

IMG_8113

Dinner

Dinner was crack slaw topped with Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, sautéed green beans and mushrooms in balsamic vinegar, and a small avocado.  Just enough food and it was yummy!  I’ve also been drinking sparkling water from my SodaStream which makes drinking water so much easier.  I just love the little bubbles!  I don’t add anything but tap water and it’s awesome.

IMG_8124

I don’t know if you’ve noticed but I’ve switched mostly to using my smaller plates.  I’m not sure if it’s true but they say you eat less because it looks like more.  One thing is for sure I’m still getting full, or as the book says satisfied, but trying not to overdo it to the point of pain.  I think one or two meals (crack slaw) were to that point last week.  I just feel bad if I don’t eat what I dish up for myself, especially if it’s not enough that I would save it.  I guess that’s one of the things I have to overcome during this Whole30 (or how many ever days I decide to continue this, it’ll be at least 30).

A friend asked me if I missed anything food wise.  I guess the answer really is no.  Other than that one chocolate craving I’ve been good.  I’ll admit that watching someone eat Doritos with that fake cheese smelled so good, and seeing someone drink a beer and I don’t even like beer but it made me want a glass of wine.  But, if I’m not around other foods I really don’t even think of them.  We have a snack machine and soda machine at work that I used to regularly use but I haven’t been tempted to do that either.  I’ve not even been tempted by the frosting-less animal crackers sitting open on the table at work, which I used to eat just because they were there.

If I had to say I miss anything it’s that I miss not having to cook…seriously!  And there weren’t as many dishes to do before either.  Other than that I’m doing great!

Leave a Reply

