Whole30 – Day 10

20 Oct

Fat!  I’d like to take a minute or two to talk about that nasty three letter word no one wants to be, hear, say, or eat.  Our society is so wrong when it comes to fat.  I think that’s partly to blame for doctor’s misconceptions of what fat does to a body, and I’d say mostly to blame for the big mass marketing done by companies who want to make more money off of “no-fat” and “low-fat” foods.

Did you know that a woman needs AT LEAST 50g of fat a day to keep up normal hormone function?  I’m not talking about just sexy time hormones, I’m talking all hormones.  Everything in your body; metabolism, body temperature regulation, sleep, etc. are all regulated by hormones.  Guess what?  If you don’t have the proper fat for your body to make these hormones to control your entire body function it just doesn’t, it stops.  Eating low-fat and no-fat is only detrimental to your health, especially because what these companies replace the fat with is more sugar….just what we need.

I’ve been struggling with a lot of hormone issues which I really still don’t have a diagnosis for yet, but I’m working on it.  I can’t help but feel that I totally fucked myself up by buying the hype that fat was bad.  I can’t tell you how many years I went eating very little fat.  And you know what….I was still fat!  Even when I was skinny-fat, I was still fat.

Through the Whole30 process they teach you to eat a certain amount of fat at each meal.  With the no sugar added to your meals your body starts to function off of fat for energy rather than sugars (just the way nature intended) and by eating more fat you will actually burn off more fat.  Crazy huh?  Anyway, I’m starting to believe it.  I woke up and looked in the mirror and saw that my belly pooch is getting smaller!  It’s still a pooch but change takes time.  I’m actually starting to feel this more energy thing too.  I slept great and woke up only slightly not wanting to get out of bed.  Hey, it’s progress!

Breakfast

I decided to wilt my spinach in a little extra coconut oil today so that I wouldn’t have to add other fats to breakfast but that backfired on me when I saw the oily mess on the bottom of my plate when I got done eating, so I ate a few olives.  The rest of my breakfast was three poached eggs and a tomato I grew in my back yard!

IMG_8126IMG_8127

Lunch

For lunch I had a bed of cauliflower rice topped with part of the leftover stuffing from the acorn squash and some brussels sprouts.  I brought some mayo to add to the top, since you know FATS!  This turned out really good.  I mixed it all together after heating it up.

IMG_8128

Dinner

I think this meal was my favorite so far.  I added a scoop of cauliflower rice to the bottom of the bowl of Thai chicken soup and topped it with avocado.  Delicious!

IMG_5231

For some reason the Whole30 timeline lists days 10-11 as being the worst days and the days you’re most likely to quit.  I find that strange because I’m not tempted to quit at all.  Not even when G ate two corndogs (one of my favorites) right in front of me at work tonight.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.30.17 AM

Leave a Reply

