Whole30 – Day 12

22 Oct

Day 12 hit me like a ton of bricks.  I thought I had this Whole30 down.  Thought people who were just ready to throw in the towel and quit didn’t have enough will-power…until day 12.

I woke up this morning (or evening since that’s my morning) just feeling horrible.  Not physically horrible but so easily irritated.  Then I got upset, and then all I wanted to do was cry.  I am not a cryer.  I don’t cry often, I hate crying.  And, I don’t often get the urge to just cry for no reason.  And cry I did.  But I managed to pull myself together, get my butt to work, and have a successful night.  I felt slightly off all night though and I hate that.

I did a little Whole30 forum reading and found out this is pretty common.  I even found some people who had the exact same descriptions of how they were feeling on both days 11 and 12 so I guess I’m not that abnormal.  I also read that eating more sweet potatoes (or other starchy foods) when you feel like this can help your body cope with the changes it’s going through.  I know I mentioned before a lot of my issues are hormone related…so maybe my body is actually producing hormones now?  I don’t know, that’s only a theory.  A lot of people said it’s part of the detox from sugars, and that’s probably it exactly.  Here I thought I could make it through this unscathed.

The good news is that I didn’t cheat.  I didn’t even have the urge to cheat, I just couldn’t understand why I was feeling the way I did.  Lame.

Breakfast

Breakfast was spinach mixed with what I had leftover of the stuffing of the acorn squash which consisted of ground turkey, celery, onion, and diced apples.   I scrambled this all together with three eggs and had some olives to go with it.  So delicious, even though I was still teary-eyed when I ate it.

IMG_8146

Lunch

For lunch I decided to mix a bunch of stuff together.  I added some cauliflower rice, crack slaw, and roasted brussels sprouts into my lunch container.  Once I heated it all up I added in some mayo then mixed it all together.  It makes a nice creamy sauce, really good!

IMG_8147

Dinner

I forgot I had a leftover sweet potato (or is it a yam?) from last week so I “baked” that in the microwave hoping that the extra starchy foods will help improve my mood.  I did cut down from a lot of sweet potatoes last week to zero this week, completely unintentionally.  I also had a bowl of thai chicken soup with cauliflower rice added and topped with a squeeze of fresh lime and an avocado.  This soup is amazing!

IMG_8148

I guess my positive spin on the day is that I didn’t kill anyone, I’m still alive, and I didn’t eat any non-compliant foods!  Life and Whole30 go on!

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 9.57.36 AM

I’m ready for a better day 13!  Because I’m not superstitious 😉

Leave a Reply

