Whole30 – Day 13

23 Oct

Well thank god my non-superstition worked out because I woke up feeling much better today than day 12.  I still wasn’t in the mood for too much BS (but who ever really is), but I didn’t cry or even feel like it so I call it a win.

It’s finally my weekend and I’m heading to bed ASAP.  I have a get-together planned for what would normally be my mid-sleep.  Luckily I can come back home and sleep more.  Man I love weekends!

Breakfast

I decided to start my day off right with one of my absolute favorites so far.  Wilted spinach mixed into some crack slaw, topped with two poached eggs.  So good!  And a side of green olives, you know why!  I really am going to make some more sauces for next week for a little variety.  I’d love to hear how you all get your fats in at each meal.  If you have any tips or favorites let me know.

IMG_8151

Lunch

I had a stuffed acorn squash, green beans and mushrooms, and some raw celery and almond butter.  Very satisfying!

IMG_8152

Dinner

I was going to skip dinner.  I know, totally not in the rule book but I wanted to get to bed.  I noticed I was hungry when I walked in the door so I made the quickest thing I could find and I’m sure I’ll sleep better not having a rumbly, hungry stomach.  I had the spinach and tomato frittata, roasted brussels sprouts, and topped it with a dollop of mayo.  It may sound weird but I’m telling you what, homemade mayo tastes so different than store bought and it works really nice as a sauce especially on hot foods because it kinda melts into everything.  On top of that it works!

IMG_8155

I’m not even kidding when I say I think I’ve eaten more vegetables in the past 13 days than I have in my entire life.  I might be slightly exaggerating about the whole life thing but I bet it’s close.  I even like vegetables but I just never took the time to prepare them much in the past.  I mostly ate salads because they were easy.

I still find this process to be mostly easy as long as I’m doing the food prep on the weekends.  I’ve said it before but it’s worth repeating, I would have failed at this long ago if I would have had to cook every meal at the time I was getting ready to eat it.  My schedule just does not allow for that.  I have to think that in this day and age there are more people in my situation than not, and if doing something like the Whole30 doesn’t seem attainable to you because of time then pre-cooking everything is a great option.  I haven’t found anything to taste less good for being stored in the refrigerator….except maybe the roasted brussels sprouts.  They lose their crunch but are still good reheated.

The truth of the matter is, just like that old saying,

If there’s a will there’s a way!

Make it work people!

Leave a Reply

