Whole30 – Day 16

26 Oct

I was having one of those days today.  I just felt like I wasn’t seeing any major changes and was feeling pretty down and frustrated by it.  I mean, I can tell my stomach has gone down some but there’s still plenty of padding and a stubborn pooch I’ll probably have all my life because i remember even having it as a pretty skinny little kid.  I know my sleep has gotten better even though I wake up tired.  This is really pretty miraculous because I used to take a natural sleep aid (usually Natural Calm magnesium).  But, I just want amazing, miraculous, results you know?

But then after my mini-panic attack about how I was getting nowhere fast I realized I’ve been at this a whopping two weeks.  Even if I were placed on medications you don’t often start seeing results from that for weeks or maybe even months.  And, two weeks is really short when you consider I’ve managed to build these health problems through approximately the last 1,872 weeks.  So yeah, two weeks is barely the blink of an eye when you consider my entire life of unhealthy eating, unhealthy relationships with food, using food/alcohol as a reward, crazy diets with no fats and not nearly enough calories.  You get my point?  Even though Whole30 may never “cure” any of my issues completely I do think it’ll help in the long run but it surely won’t turn things completely around in two weeks.  And lets face it, there are no miracles but there is hard work and I’m sure as hell putting it in.

So yeah, I guess I need to learn a little patience….not my strong suit if you know me.  But here I am with 16 days under my slightly smaller belt!  I’m just going to keep trusting the process.

Breakfast

Breakfast is what it has become often for me lately because I like it so much.  I like it because it tastes good and because it leave me full through several hours at work and hunger is one less thing I need to worry about.  Crack slaw, spinach, and two poached eggs with an avocado.

IMG_8203

Lunch

I tried out my compliant store bought spaghetti sauce on top of some spaghetti squash “noodles” and had two closed fist serving size of almonds.  I was bummed with I could only find raw almonds that were compliant but I actually enjoyed them.  I guess this Whole30 thing must be changing my tastebuds up some.  I never hated them raw but I never really liked them before.

IMG_8204

Dinner

Oh my god!  Remember me mentioning the kalua pig and how easy it was to make?  Well, not only is it stupidly easy but it’s also so delicious!  I added 9 cloves of garlic instead of the recommended 5 and every bite was garlicy goodness.  I put some cauliflower rice and brussels sprouts in the bottom of my bowl, topped it with the kalua pig and then added some mayo on top and mixed it all together!  It was to die for!

IMG_8208

So remember I mentioned about putting in the hard work?  Well, I’m still not feeling the crazy energy they said will (maybe, probably, some day) happen but I’m not near as tired as when I first started.  Now it’s time to get physical, which I know is only going to promote all the results I’m looking for.  Today after work I took my two chihuahua puppies on about a three mile walk.  It’s not crazy exercise but I’m working my way up.  And, it’s sure as hell beats doing nothing at all, plus my pups really enjoyed it.

IMG_8209

I got my 10,000 Fitbit steps today!

Leave a Reply

