Whole30 – Day 17

27 Oct

I had something weird happen to me today.  No matter how much water I drank my mouth was so dry…like the desert dry.  I was going to the bathroom non-stop so I know my body was hydrated enough.  I tried looking it up online to see if I could figure out the problem and I came up with two possibilities, although I don’t know if either one is right.  One theory is that I’m in “ketosis”, which I only know means not enough carbs, or lack of carbs, something like that.  And, I eat vegetables all day long and they have carbs.  It’s true though, I haven’t been doing the sweet potatoes and maybe that’s part of the problem.  The second theory is that my electrolytes may be out of whack.  I could buy into either theory but I don’t know, maybe it’s both.  I plan on mentioning it to my doctor if it doesn’t go away soon though.

Breakfast

Breakfast was the same old same old.  I feel like I don’t even need to post a description anymore since you all know what it is.  But there is the off-chance that one of you is a new reader today and you have no idea what I’m talking about so I’ll still explain.  Crack slaw, spinach, and poached eggs!  My favorite breakfast ever!

IMG_8234

Lunch

Lunch was nice and easy today.  I ate a large serving of zoodles topped with spaghetti sauce and a side of brussels sprouts smothered, and I mean smothered in home made ranch dressing.  This version of my ranch came out so much better than the last time I made it.  I remembered to buy paprika the last time I went shopping and had omitted it the first time.  Who knew paprika would make such a big difference?  Not me.  It’s good either way but it does resemble store bought ranch more-so now.

IMG_8235

Dinner

Dinner was kalua pig, green beans, and egg salad.  I also ate an apple, which I did not take a picture of, in hopes that it would help the dry mouth thing if it really is lack of carbs.  In reading Whole30 they mention not to eat fruit with every meal but maybe I’m really not incorporating enough fruit.  Or maybe I’m just overthinking this whole thing.

IMG_8238

And, just because I was dying to know, I took some half way point progress photos.  I guess technically they are slightly over half way but close enough.  I now regret having taken my beginning photos in a two piece swim suit because now I have to take my follow-up photos in the same attire.  I hadn’t thought much about sharing these with the world, but I will for the sake of showing you that even though there is only a little progress, it’s still progress dammit!  So please be kind.  I know I’m not the best looking person you will ever see in a two piece but I’m also far from the worst looking too.

IMG_8233

I can really see a difference in my mid-section (front and back) and in my thighs.  I see a difference in my face too, it looks less puffy.  But, my eyes have darker circles under them and I just look so damn tired.  I felt really tired when I woke up today too.  Really I can’t believe there is this much change just with eating differently, no processed foods, no sugar, no alcohol, no beans/legumes, and no grains.  I have eaten way more fat than I have ever eaten in my life in the last 17 days and yet you can see my body is smaller.  I guess that whole sugar makes you fat not fat makes you fat thing really has some validity to it after all.

Leave a Reply

