Whole30 – Day 18

28 Oct

Wow!  I can’t believe this 30 days is nearly 2/3rds of the way done already.  It feels both long and short all at the same time.

I’m not sure what the deal is but today I really wanted anything sweet.  I bought a bag (Costco size bag) of candy for the trick-or-treaters and it’s sitting in the same cabinet as my Starbuck’s Via coffee.  It literally hasn’t bothered me until today.  I thought this was supposed to get easier, not harder?  Not that it’s hard exactly, I just feel like I’m craving things more lately, like a glass of wine.  Damn that sounds good.  But here I am writing my blog, without chocolate in my hand, and drinking some herbal cinnamon apple tea.  Oh well, what are you going to do?

Breakfast

More of the same and I’m still not tired of it.  Two poached eggs on top of crack slaw and spinach.  Possibly the world’s most perfect breakfast!

IMG_8243

Lunch

Lunch was kalua pig and cauliflower rice with mayo mixed in after it was heated.  I finally remembered to slice up my fennel and I ate that raw and also had a still not ripe persimmon.  I seriously need to find out if there’s a way to make these ripen faster because I’m dying to try a really ripe one (they are supposed to be super sweet) but I think I’m going to eat them all before they even hit the ripe stage.  I sprinkled cinnamon on top and it’s good.  I like them either way, with or without cinnamon.  One of the blogs I read said that they thought these tasted like Christmas.  Hmmm, I’m sure not feeling that at all.  But I guess different people can have different idea of what Christmas tastes like.

IMG_8244

Dinner

I got really creative for dinner tonight.  Any by creative I mean I threw things in a blow and stirred it all together and hoped for the best.  Actually it was pretty good.  I’m going to call it “kitchen sink”, because if it would have fit I probably would have added it to the bowl too.  I added spaghetti squash, coach slaw, ranch dressing, and lots of Frank’s Red Hot sauce and mixed it up.  It was like buffalo chicken wings….but not chicken wings.

IMG_8250

I went for a long walk again after work today…in the rain.  I ended up soaked by the time I got home but it was still nice and relaxing to be outdoors.  I’m currently listening to the audiobook of Wild, by Cheryl Strayed.  It’s a factual account from a woman (Cheryl) who walked the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT) by herself.  I’ve been dying to hike the PCT, or even parts of it, for about 15 years now.  I’m currently in no shape for it…but then again neither was Cheryl when she started out.  It’s something I’d still love to do, but I would certainly do more research than she did before setting off.  Personally I love to hike.  I never get to do it very often which is a total bummer.  I love being in nature and I think it would be a beyond amazing experience.  I guess I’ll have to put it on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

