Whole30 – Day 22

1 Nov

Whew!  I survived the sweetest day of the year and didn’t eat a single piece of candy.  Just opening the bag to dump it into a bowl for the trick-or-treaters was torture.  I never realized candy could smell so strongly through the wrappers, but let me tell you it sure can.

IMG_8268

I came to a realization today as I began shopping and cooking my food today.  I actually really like eating whole food and I really don’t want to eat processed crap…except that candy, I really did want to eat that, lol.  But seriously, I feel like my taste buds have changed so much in the last 22 days and I’m really enjoying eating food that looks like what it’s supposed to look like and that doesn’t have ingredients I can’t pronounce.

I only had one day off this week so I tried to simplify my cooking as much as possible.  I ended up making three crock pot dishes.  Luckily I own two crock pots so that helped with time.  I was just happy to not spend all day on my feet in the kitchen, but it still did take quite a bit of time.

Top to bottom let to right I made: Paleo Leap’s Oven Roasted Garlic CabbageNom Nom Paleo’s Slow Cooker Roast Chicken and Gravy, roasted carrots parsnips and cauliflower, Pure and Simple Nourishment’s Texas Slow Cooker Beef Chili, roasted rutabaga and turnips, mashed sweet potatoes, and chicken curry.

IMG_8277

I had a panic moment earlier today.  I went to the bathroom and thought I was dying.  My pee was reddish-pink which is usually not a good sign.  I started drinking massive amounts of water because I was sure something was very wrong.  Then I thought about what I had eaten today and remembered I had eaten at least one whole red beet and another golden beet.  I googled it and found out that beets can actually dye your urine.  Totally crazy and thankfully I’m not dying after all!

I seriously can’t believe that I’m starting week four already.

Leave a Reply

