Whole30 – Day 27

6 Nov

What a day!  Thankfully I’m writing you from my weekend which is going to look a lot like lazy other than the cooking I’ll be doing tomorrow night (which I haven’t even planned yet).  One thing I know for sure I’ll be making this upcoming week (yep, week5!!!) is going to be some crack slaw.  I can’t believe I’ve gone a week without it.  I really do miss it.  It feels like such a staple to me.  It makes me so happy to hear back from the many people I know who have made this dish who love it as much as I do.

I have no idea if what I’m experiencing is Whole30 related or if it’s just a random coincidence, but my jaw has been killing me for the past few weeks.  I haven’t mentioned it because it all started with one side or the other popping, usually once a day or so.  It would be pretty painful when it popped, and so loud that my ear would ring for a short while, but then it would feel better.  Well that changed a few days ago.  The right side of my jaw is so sore, and it’s not popping anymore.  I scheduled a visit with my dentist to try to find out what’s going on with it.  Originally I thought maybe my inflammation was going down so things were resettling, but even if that is the case it hurts like hell.  Hopefully Monday brings me good news and less pain.

Breakfast

Wilted spinach, avocado, and poached eggs!  I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so many eggs in one month.  Eggs are one of the most nutrient dense foods you can eat so I don’t feel bad about it.

IMG_8310

Lunch

Nom Nom Paleo’s chicken and gravy with some mashed sweet potatoes and the roasted veggies I don’t like.  I managed to choke down some of the vegetables while they were smothered in sweet potatoes and gravy.  I know they are good for me but dang they are not good.  I’ll be changing things up drastically in this department for next week.

IMG_8311

Dinner

So part of my exciting day after work included getting a new phone!  New phones are great but they always seem to be a pain to set up.  Luckily, once I figured out how to do it (thank you Google) the iCloud backup made it pretty easy.  Why am I talking about this for the dinner section?  It’s because my phone was in the one of many updates when I ate dinner so you don’t get a picture today.  I had the chicken curry and green olives!  Still one of my favorite combos.

I still really can’t believe my first 30 day journey has almost come to an end.  I realized something today, that I probably already knew.  I am an emotional eater.  I got really upset and frustrated today, over something mostly stupid but still annoying, and I was driving around during this time.  I saw Dairy Queen and I wanted a Blizzard so bad.  Believe me, Blizzards have been one of my go-to foods in the past when I’m upset or wanting comfort or just something sugary and delicious.  Crazy how our society has utilized food to comfort, soothe, and take the place of healthy stress relievers.  Luckily I can realize this now, it’s not a real craving but a mental trigger.  When we feel stressed out is not the time to pump your body full or crap because that only stresses out our bodies more on a different level.  But I guess it’s taken me 27 days to learn this, and it’s going to take even longer before I completely lose these triggered cravings (obviously).  I wonder if they would ever completely go away?  What are you food triggers?  If you are aware of what makes you want to eat foods that are not good for you then you can have a mental plan on how to redirect your focus to a healthy one.  Just a little “food for thought”!

Leave a Reply

