Whole30 – Day 28

8 Nov

I can’t believe I haven’t eaten any junk in 28 days!  If you know me and my sweet tooth that’s amazing all in itself.

I managed to get my shopping done today and tonight is cooking night!  I have some new recipes to try and I can’t wait because one of them is Pad Thai, one of my favorite dishes in the universe.  When I first started out on this journey grocery shopping took me forever but now I’m finding it to be a breeze.  I still don’t like what the cash register total comes to but I guess I’m getting more used to it.  Every week seems to be roughly the same, about $115 in groceries.  I know I could cut down some costs, but I do buy grass fed beef and free range chicken, no added hormones/antibiotics, and that’s worth a few extra dollars.  I could also shop what’s on sale but I’ll be honest, I’m not there in my cooking yet.  Right now I sit down and look through recipes, or I find something during the week, that looks good and that’s what I make.  Maybe one of these days I’ll focus more on eating this way on a bit of a budget.  One thing at a time I suppose.

Breakfast

Spinach, zoodles, poached eggs, and almond butter!  Yes I ate it straight out of the container, but no I did not eat the whole thing.  I ran out of avocados and needed some fats so almond butter sounded like a good way to get it in.  If you’ve never tried the machine that grinds it fresh for you, you really should.  It’s is so much yummier than any pre-packaged almond butter I’ve ever tried.  It’s good enough I probably could eat the entire container if I didn’t have a little self-control.

IMG_8312

Lunch

Chili topped with ranch dressing.  In my mind this was an awesome combo.  In my mouth, not quite so awesome.  It wasn’t too horrible to eat but I wouldn’t recommend it.

IMG_8317

Dinner

Seriously one of my new favorite dishes.  Chicken and Gravy by Nom Nom Paleo with mashed sweet potatoes, topped with clarified butter and LOTS of gravy!

IMG_8318

As you know I don’t usually write my blog this late at night, but I slept and slept and slept today!  It’s my day off and clearly my body was telling me I needed it.  Hopefully my body was doing some much needed repairs during that sleep.

Did you forget?  Only three days until I announce my results and the giveaway details!

Leave a Reply

