Whole30 – Day 29

8 Nov

So close I can almost see the end!  Must be my internal excitement because I should be sleeping right now and can’t, which is a really big bummer considering I have to work tonight.

I did my fifth massive cooking session and am pretty happy with the results!

I decided to try to make my own kombucha at home.  The first step is to make (or buy) a scoby.  I decided to try to make one since I’ve been successful doing this several years ago, but I never really got into actually making the kombucha.  Kombucha contains lots of probiotics which help your gut and although the process involves sugar, the fermenting process eats up most of the sugar.  In two to four weeks I should know if my scoby is going to grow.  Maybe in a month and a half I’ll actually have home-brewed kombucha!  If I get this to work I’ll post more about it in the future.

IMG_8324IMG_8325

See the little floating things in there?  That’s part of a scoby that came in my drink and what will hopefully continue to grow.

Look what I found, finally!  I’m so excited!  Coconut Aminos.  Now I can finally make my crack slaw (and many other recipes) as intended.  Thanks D for letting me know where I could find it locally.  For those of you in the PNW, the co-op in Astoria has it in stock and if I remember right it was $6.99/bottle.  Much better than the $16.99 I saw it for on Amazon.

IMG_8319

From top to bottom, left to right, I made a balsamic pot roast with sweet potatoes and green beans and a gravy similar to the one I made for the chicken last week, spaghetti squash pad thai with chicken and shrimp, roasted vegetables including carrots, broccoli, brussels sprouts, and green beans, cauliflower rice, and crack slaw.  The pad thai recipe made a ton so I froze some of it immediately.  It’s not as delicious as pad thai from my favorite Thai restaurant but it’s still pretty good.  I made fewer vegetable dishes and a larger quantity of the ones I did make this week which saved a little time.  Also, I stuck to vegetables I know I like so I won’t have the rutabaga/turnip debacle I had last week.

IMG_8332

I’m seriously so excited!  I can’t believe I’m really starting my final day (officially).  Like i’ve said before, i have no intentions of stopping my whole30/wholelife way of eating any time soon.  But just know that I can commit myself to such a big change for 30 days and accomplish it is huge.  If you set yourself up for success this is actually a pretty easy process, so long as you focus on all the things you can eat instead of all the things you can’t.

Leave a Reply

